What is optical fibre?

Optical fibre is the technology of the future – ultra-fine and more powerful than any other type of cable.

 

Optical Fibre

An optical fibre is an ultra-fine glass fibre that conducts light without any significant loss and over very long distances. Because of its specific properties and following the development of optoelectronic components that modulate the light, fibre optics are mainly used to transmit data streams.

Optical fibre transfer information at a markedly higher speed than copper phone cables or even coaxial cables. It is the main component of broadband networks such as the one currently being installed by POST Technologies.


This type of network can simultaneously transmit an almost unlimited amount of data. Distributors can simultaneously offer their customers a phone connection, ultra high-speed internet, TV (IPTV), video conferencing, etc

logo

Structure of a fibre optic cable

The glass fibres consist of a core, enveloped by a casing with a slightly weaker refractive index. As a result, a total reflection occurs, which transports the light. The casing usually consists of pure silica so the higher refractive index of the core is usually the result of dipping the silica in germanium or phosphorus.
The core from pure SiO2 and dipped casing can also be achieved with a fluor or borium atom, which reduces the refractive index.


The casing forms a protective layer, which acts as a buffer, as well as an external protective insulation. The external insulation protects the fibre against mechanical damage and humidity. It generally consists of a cover in special plastic.

picture: A - Core; B - Cladding; C - Protection Coating; D - Jacket

Was ist eine Glasfaser?

Die Glasfaser ist die Technologie der Zukunft: dünner als ein Haar und leistungsstärker als jedes andere Kabel.

 

Die Glasfaser

Eine Glasfaser ist ein sehr dünner gläserner Faden, der Licht ohne große Verluste und über sehr große Entfernungen leitet. Aufgrund dieser Eigenschaften und infolge der Entwicklung der optoelektronischen Bauteile, welche eine Modulation des Lichts ermöglichen, wird die Glasfaser vor allem in der Übertragung von Datenströmen verwendet.


Die Glasfaser bietet deutlich höhere Datenübertragungsraten als Kupfertelefonleitungen oder selbst Koaxialkabel. Sie bildet den wesentlichen Bestandteil eines Breitbandnetzes wie dem, welches derzeit von POST Technologies verlegt wird.


Dieses Netz ermöglicht die gleichzeitige Übertragung einer quasi unbegrenzten Datenmenge. So kann ein Betreiber seinen Kunden gleichzeitig Telefon, Ultra-Breitband-Internet, TV (IPTV), Videokonferenzen und andere Dienste anbieten.  

logo

Struktur der Glasfaser

Die Glasfaser besteht aus einem zentralen Bestandteil (Kern), der von einer Hülle mit einem leicht schwächeren Refraktionsindex ummantelt ist. Infolge der daraus resultierenden totalen Reflektion wird das Licht übertragen. 
Die Hülle besteht im Allgemeinen aus reinem Silizium, während der höhere Refraktionsindex im Kern das Resultat der Dotierung des Siliziums durch Germanium oder Phosphor ist.


Der Kern der Glasfaser kann auch aus reinem SiO2 gefertigt sein, und die Ummantelung mit einem Fluor- oder Bor-Atom dotiert werden, welches zu einer Reduzierung des Refraktionsindexes führt.
Die Hülle ist mit einer Schutzschicht versehen, die als Pufferzone und als schützende äußere Ummantelung dient. Diese äußere Ummantelung schützt die Glasfaser vor mechanischer Beschädigung und Feuchtigkeit. Sie besteht in der Regel aus einer speziellen Kunststoffbeschichtung.

Bild rechts: A - Kern; B - Mantel; C - Schutzbeschichtung; D - Hülle